TOP BAR - Fixtures

Wasps name team for Connacht clash

Wasps name team for Connacht clash

Dai Young has named a 27-man squad to take on Connacht Rugby at the Ricoh Arena on Wednesday evening, kick-off 7.30pm.

The second pre-season game will be the squad’s final opportunity to prepare ahead of the start of the 2017-18 season, which kicks off against Sale Sharks on Saturday, September 2 at the Ricoh Arena.

The squad for Wednesday night’s fixture sees the return of internationals Matt Mullan and Nathan Hughes, with James Gaskell, Jimmy Gopperth, Marty Moore and Joe Simpson also added to the matchday party.

Tickets for the final pre-season game against Connacht Rugby on Wednesday night are available to purchase online at

Ahead of the game, director of rugby Young said, “We were pleased with the performance last week in Ulster and it’s always great to kick off pre-season with a win, but we’re also aware that there’s still a lot to work on.

“The squad have put in a lot of hard work during the pre-season and it was good to see a lot of it come together in a good team performance on Thursday night, something that we’ll be looking to build on this Wednesday back home at the Ricoh Arena.

“We faced Connacht twice in last season’s European Champions Cup in what were two fantastic contests, so we know exactly how tough a challenge it will be on Wednesday night.

“With just ten days until the start of the Aviva Premiership campaign following Wednesday’s game, we’re looking to build on our performance from last week in pretty much every area and, up against a very tough Connacht side, it will be a good chance for some of the final pieces to click into place.”

Tickets for Wednesday night’s pre-season game against Connacht Rugby at the Ricoh Arena are available to purchase online at

The regular Aviva Premiership season then begins as Wasps host Sale Sharks on the opening weekend at the Ricoh Arena on Saturday, September 2, kick-off 3pm.

Tickets for the season-opener are on sale at

Wasps team to face Connacht Rugby

  1. Rob Miller
  2. Christian Wade
  3. Juan De Jongh
  4. Gaby Lovobalavu
  5. Marcus Watson
  6. Jimmy Gopperth
  7. Dan Robson
  8. Matt Mullan
  9. Ashley Johnson (c)
  10. Jake Cooper-Woolley
  11. Matt Symons
  12. Will Rowlands
  13. James Gaskell
  14. Guy Thompson
  15. Nathan Hughes


  1. Tom Cruse
  2. Simon McIntyre
  3. Marty Moore
  4. Kearnan Myall
  5. Jack Willis
  6. Alex Rieder
  7. Joe Simpson
  8. Danny Cipriani
  9. Guy Armitage
  10. Brendan Macken
  11. Josh Bassett
  12. Owain James


To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out 2017-2018 Wasps